Cute-as-a-Button Veggies

I love cute little things: miniature, tiny stuff of all sorts. And I love vegetables. So I go pretty insane when I come across cute, little vegetables. I just want to eat them they’re so cute…And I do. A quick friday trip to the farmer’s market found these little gems. They look like big gumballs, no?  They are locally grown and I visited with the farmer who grew them, picked them, and was selling them straight from her farm to me. I pop one in my mouth pretty much every time I walk in the kitchen.

And look at these adorable, dainty, lady-peas. The name kills me- so delicate, as is their flavor. Too many times people overpower their natural flavor with smoked meat or other heavy flavors. I like to slightly undercook them so they are crisp. I simmered them tonight with some chicken base, garlic and fresh corn for about 25 minutes. I served with hot sauce over quinoa. Nice little succotash type dish.

Of course baby carrots are my stand-by veggie snack, with or without hummus. I pack them in my lunch instead of chips.  Naturally sweet, they help with sugar cravings. My dogs love them too- I checked with my vet and they are good for dogs. I also like to make soup with them.

LOOK at these little blue (purple?) potatoes…These I could just set out as decoration they are so beautiful. I like to slice and fry in coconut oil with onions.

And of course, Okra is one of the cutest veggies ever with their little caps they wear. Read about my love of okra here

Do you find any vegetables cute or am I just a freak?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. big house, little prairie
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 21:31:34

    Adorable! 😉

    Reply

  2. M.
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 11:20:39

    I definitely find some vegetables cute, especially tiny ones! Recently I saw “pee wee potatoes” at the grocery store, which were basically like fingerling potatoes but even smaller — about the size of grape tomatoes. So adroable!

    I also recently committed a gardening mishap that resulted in comically tiny but oh-so-precious heads of garlic: http://stuffedgrapes.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/miniature-garlic/

    Reply

  3. PJ Girl
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 14:06:47

    I love baby veg! Of course, you pay a premium for these at restaurants or grocers but the beauty of growing my own is being able to pick them at this cute and tasty stage!

    Reply

Leave a comment