Yoga Squash and Mushroom Tomato Sauce

Someone brought me some beautiful home-grown spaghetti squash and tomatoes the other night after taking my yoga class. I couldn’t wait to prepare them. Especially the red sauce with real tomatoes.

Spaghetti squash is a nice summer alternative to heavy pasta.

I pierced the squash, wrapped it in foil and baked at 350 for an hour. I let it cool slightly before halving it open

Scraping the flesh out with a fork creates nice long strands of “Spaghetti”

The sauce was simple. Onions, garlic and diced tomato with fresh mushrooms. I put the mushrooms in last to keep them firm. I’m strongly against mushy mushrooms.

I served with a piece of grilled salmon for protein. I was out of parmesan so my reliable feta topped it. I can’t stand not having feta cheese in my house, I love it dearly, but I have to say- Parmesan really would have made this perfect. The vegetables were all just a tad under-cooked which for me means perfectly crisp and flavorful. Squash, mushrooms and tomato all tend to get soft and mushy really fast if left on the heat too long.

What made this all taste so good was that someone brought it to me as a gift from their own garden. The way food is grown and cooked has a lot to do with how we take it into our bodies. When food is prepared with love and generosity we ingest that energy. We take in everything that vegetable or animal has been through. Hence, my love of farm fresh eggs from pet chickens!

How do you feel when you eat home-cooked food lovingly prepared Vs processed food from a factory?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ Girl
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 05:23:27

    I’ve never eaten Spaghetti Squash – we don’t have it around here. Your sauce looks delicious and I agree that when you know that food has been grown with love and care it MUST nourish more than your body 🙂

    Reply

  2. healthygirlandthecity
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 08:05:12

    i need to try spaghetti squash – i’ve been meaning to for sooo long, and never do! thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

