Carrot Ginger Soup

It’s the middle of summer and I haven’t made soup in a long time. Yesterday I realized how much I missed the ritual of chopping, slicing and tossing ingredients into a cauldron; allowing them to mingle, simmer and create the magic potion of homemade soup. Homemade soup is good for the soul. It’s also good for headaches, colds, stuffy noses, achy backs, heartbreaks, PMS and all around blah-ness. I like to create soup from whatever I may find in my kitchen. Today I found a large bag of baby carrots in the fridge so I boiled them and am always amazed at the soft sweetness the cooking brings out in the normally crunchy snack. Sidenote: Did you know baby carrots aren’t really babies? They are simply shaped and made from big carrots? I was more than mildly disappointed when I found that out….

I sauteed some onion, garlic and fresh ginger in coconut oil. There is something so soothing about the smell and flavor of fresh ginger root. It immediately warms my spirit no matter how blah I may feel. When the onions were nice and soft I added the whole pot of baby carrots with water. More water went in and about a cup of almond milk. A sprinkle of red pepper flakes and a good dose of curry powder completed the concoction. I then let it simmer slow to blend the exotic flavors to my plain little leftover baby carrots. After about 30 minutes I strained out the carrots and put them in a blender to create a beautiful bright orange puree that went directly back into the pot. Fancy tip: Serve it with a dollop of plain greek yogurt on top and toasted pita points. It is a warming, nutritious vegan soup with a bite! I love summer but I guess today I needed to feel grounded and my root vegetable soup did the trick.Image

Leave a Reply

