Coconut Curry Lentils

Yesterday I felt a smidge of autumn in the air, enough for me to get out my slow-cooker. I also had a lot to do so I wanted to throw something healthy and warm together for later in the evening. I scrounged my kitchen and found: Lentils, onion, garlic and coconut milk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I softened the garlic and onions in coconut oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found a lonely sweet potato and ginger root and chopped those up too

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I put lentils and root vegetables into the slow-cooker and poured in a can of coconut milk. I sprinkled a generous amount of curry on top and set it on high.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I came home 3 hours later I added some water and chicken base for extra flavor.

Served over quinoa, it was UNBELIEVABLY flavorful and satisfying!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. createwholehealth
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 15:36:32

    Actually the slow cooker was on LOW setting- lentils cook fast. And I should’ve softened the ginger a bit. This makes Great leftovers!

    Reply

  2. Janet
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 07:38:15

    This sounds really good. Can you estimate the ratio of lentils and veggies to liquid? Thanks!

    Reply

    • createwholehealth
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 09:53:48

      Hi- I used a bag of dry lentils, One whole can of coconut milk and about a cup of water. It really depends how thin/thick you want the mixture to be. If you don’t add any water then it’s really thick, I wanted mine a bit more soupy…..

      Reply

Leave a comment