The Lost Art of The Dinner Party

Do people still have proper dinner parties? I’m worried about that. I’m worried that because of convenience and time, restaurants have taken over and people have forgotten the art of throwing fabulous dinner parties.  The kind where friends linger and lounge on couches and armchairs with drinks in hand, waiting for the home-cooked meal to be served, but in no hurry to eat and run. I LOVE the whole concept of dinner parties and have wanted to host them since I was a little girl. I would scour my mother’s Betty Crocker cookbook looking at the delicious recipes and party themes for any occasion.

Retro cookbook

My childhood treasure that started my love of the kitchen

Luckily I love to cook so having a dinner party is not a source of anxiety for me but I know it can be to some. It doesn’t have to be though; it can be so simple that anyone can host a successful dinner party and have fun doing it. I had a birthday dinner party last weekend and here are some ways I kept mine simple but still fabulous….

Choose an easy main dish that you have made before: I chose to make lasagna. It’s easily prepared ahead of time with minimal effort and it always looks and tastes like a ton of work went into it. I made one large pan with meat and a smaller pan for a couple of guests who are vegetarian. Same ingredients, same prep time. To make it special I added red wine and fresh basil to the sauce!

tomato sauce

Have a great assortment of simple appetizers: My favorite thing is to buy a variety of crackers and chips and then make homemade hummus. I made garlic and chipotle pepper- same batch, just used different spices. Easy to make ahead too.

homemade hummus

I also bought a small amount of interesting cheeses from TJ’s. Yes, I bought cheese with chocolate in it, it was my birthday! I always splurge $ on cheese because the sizes are so small and quality makes a difference in taste.

chocolate cheddar cheese

Create a simple fresh salad: Greens, rasberries, slivered almonds, goat cheese. Done. Choose a light, versatile dressing and toss just before serving. Everyone loooooved the salad, I think the fresh berries and goat cheese was the tipping point.

Have an impressive dessert; I chose to buy a decadent chocolate ganeche cake from the bakery at whole foods. It’s easier to buy a fancy dessert than to try to make one but if you have a speciality like a pie or cobbler with seasonal items then go for that. I served caramel frozen yogurt with the cake and that was what made it really special.

recipe-image-legacy-id--1043451_11

BYOB; if you’re comfortable with it, ask guests to bring their own liquor. People like too many different things for you to try and stock the bar. Plus you never know how much people drink so it’s hard to know how much to buy. My friends all brought wine, beer, and champagne and everyone enjoyed just what they wanted.

Create ambience: scented candles, a fire in the fireplace, good music, plenty of seating, fresh flowers. Make sure pets are bathed, well-behaved, and introduced properly. All of these little details can really seal the deal on a successful dinner party.

appetizers cheese and crackers

Mix it up: Invite a wide variety of your friends, or just invite 2, there is no magic #. It’s ok to mix and match people from different parts of your life. If you only have “work” friends, guess what the conversation will be about?

ENJOY: Don’t forget it’s your party to enjoy! Eat, Drink, and Be Merry- the dishes can wait……

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca Smith
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 09:53:44

    Reblogged this on Food Laughter Love and commented:
    Love this post by my sweet friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

