It’s Not a Diet, It’s a Lifestyle

I changed my way of eating in October to include more calories from real food. I began eating 5 times a day and include a lean protein, complex carb, and healthy fat in each meal. The results have been phenomenal as I have lowered my body fat from almost 29% to 18%. I’ve written several posts on the topic and shared tips on clean-eating and meal prepping. So……now what? I don’t want to go back to my previous way of eating that gave me lots of fiber but not enough muscle building protein.

It’s time to begin to incorporate my new way of eating into a lifestyle. The good thing is: It already is! I have been shopping, cooking, packing, and eating like this for 11 weeks and it really is my lifestyle now. That’s the secret, you don’t ever go back! And why would I want to? I am enjoying everything I want and indulging once a week in something that wouldn’t be on the plan. Sometimes it’s thai food, or gelato, or maybe a yummy muffin from a favorite coffee shop. And those treats are so much more special now than when I mindlessly indulged.

pumpkin nut muffins

It’s not a diet, it’s not restricting, and there is not end date. It’s a new way of nourishing and feeding myself that works WITH my body, not against it. When people go on a diet and have an end goal, there is always a feeling of great accomplishment, followed by celebration, followed by a lack of commitment, followed by a regression to old behaviors, eventually ending up back in the same place they started. Then the cycle starts all over again with a new and different “miracle” diet.

The next time you are tempted to try the next trendy diet or fast that the media is promoting try this instead:

Eat to fuel your body. Eat when you’re hungry and eat real, whole foods. Stop eating when you’re full. Break up your meals to eat several times a day. Choose home-cooking over restaurants. Eat simple foods without the sauce, butter, or salt.  Begin to make small changes that you can fit into your lifestyle. Remember, there is no time limit, you are trying to change how you eat for life, not 7 weeks.

take care of yourself

If you are interested in exactly what I ate everyday please contact me and I will share more with you, or  you can read more on www.createwholehealth.com

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Yo
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 06:49:18

    Reblogged this on Glasses half full and commented:
    Great piece on changing your “lifestyle”/eating habits, not just what you eat.

    Reply

  2. SlenderGrapefruit
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 14:37:52

    Love this! I always tell people my clean eating lifestyle isn’t a diet. Great post!

    Reply

  3. EyeCandyPopper
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 13:15:39

    I’m all about true clean eating (some seem to have a very strange way of describing ‘clean’. haha). Here’s my motto “Stop counting calories. Count nutrients instead.” Eating real food is much more satisfying and can still taste delicious, so why deprive ourselves of it in favour of bland junk food that does absolutely nothing for us (and the environment for that matter)? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

