10 Ways to Get Uncomfortable

I  love being comfortable. I like my yoga pants, thick socks, blankets, and heated seats in my car. I like comfort food: sweet creamy gelato, warm baked sweet potatoes with cinnamon, hot chicken soup, and my beloved overnight oats. I like my gym that feels like my 2nd home. I like going to a yoga studio and teacher that feels familiar and I don’t have to figure out where to put my jacket or what her teaching style will be.

I liked my comfortable job that I no longer have. I liked knowing that I was really good at it and didn’t have to prove myself anymore. I liked the paycheck and the predictability of my lifestyle. It was all very comfortable.

At some point, either willingly, or kicking and screaming, we will all be faced with stepping outside of our comfort zones. When this happens we can react  2 ways:

1. Freak out and panic

2. Embrace the change and grow.

There is a saying that goes like this:

comfort-zone

The magic sets in after #2 and it takes awhile, but it happens. This past year I’ve done things that have made me very uncomfortable and with each experience I am growing and learning what I’m capable of.

We  might find we actually can run more than 1 mile on the treadmill. We can make new friends in unexpected places, we can find new work that fulfills us in new ways, and we can learn to feel at home in a new gym or without a gym at all.

This week  try practicing deliberately  stepping outside of your comfort zone and see what magic you might find. Here are some easy ways to start:

-Take a new route on your way to or from work, be aware of your surroundings.

-Talk to someone new that you’ve never talked to before. Be the first to start the conversation.

-Sign-up for a 5k or a fitness event in a different neighborhood or community center.

-Attempt a new recipe from Pinterest you think looks exciting but wouldn’t normally try.

– Take a class in something you’ve never done that has no purpose other than pure joy. Mine would be ballet.

images-2

-Wear something that makes you feel beautiful, even if you aren’t leaving the house.

-Change your sleeping habits. Go to bed earlier, or stay up later. Sleep in later on a weekend, get up earlier on a weekday.

-Take your spouse somewhere unexpected without telling them. Don’t blame me if this backfires, but it’s worth a shot.

– Try a new way of eating to see how your body responds.

-Read a book on an unfamiliar religion or spiritual practice.

The more you practice being uncomfortable, the less it will be.

 

Leave a Reply

