6 Weeks to Sleek Abs

I am 1 week in to a 6 week meal plan given to me by my favorite trainer- my boyfriend: the gym owner, the workout guru, the scientist, the muscle-whisperer. I wanted to amp up my workouts and training and needed to know where to start so I got tested in a bod-pod which accurately measures body mass/ fat/muscle ratio. The results showed my body fat percentage was much higher than I expected. My muscle mass ratio needs to come up and my body fat will balance out with that. Because I’m a capricorn and love to have a goal, my goal is to lower my body fat by 5%.

What’s funny is I already had started the new eating plan before I knew all that. It proves once again that we know instinctively what our bodies need and crave. Bottom line was I wasn’t eating enough.I was snick-snacking all day long on lovely little sweet treats that I whipped up and wrote about. I was eating tons of great vegetables that were filling me up but not satisfying my body’s needs.  I definitely wasn’t getting enough protein; the building block of muscles, tissue, and cell growth.

5470_492991497434797_2037558559_n

As hard as I like to train at the gym I wondered why I wasn’t seeing the results I wanted. This sounds like an infomercial for some pills or something but the real answer is in how we choose to fuel our bodies. So here’s what I’ve started doing to change my eating patterns:

– I eat 5-6 smalls meals a day keeping my metabolism fired up

– I include lean protein, complex carbs, and veggies in most of those meals

grilled chicken spinach salad

– I stopped eating empty calories (for now) in the form of sugar, flour, or cheese

– I also cut way back on fruits to decrease my sugar intake

– I am balancing my protein intake with my workouts so I eat more protein on the days I’m training

– I get my carbs/protein from real food sources, not shakes or powder

Week one was a lot of work. Lots of shopping, cooking, prepping, and storing meals to grab and go. Now that I have a pattern down this week will be a bit easier. Surprisingly, I am eating often but I still always have an appetite. My body is digesting the food easily and converting it to fuel. I have lots of energy and strength and my sleep is so much better for some reason.

I am learning ways to be creative with chicken and fish but usually just grill or steam them. Clean food is best when not messed with too much. Sweet potatoes are my sweet comfort sprinkled with cinnamon sans the coconut manna. My old standby breakfast of  oatmeal is without honey and nuts (for now) and truth is I don’t even miss it anymore. Eggs are also a staple in my day.

I’m excited to see how else my body and mind continue to adjust to this new pattern.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. healthstyleandfashion
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 22:47:25

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. CreateWholeHealth
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 07:05:29

    Thanks!! I will keep updating !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

