Stewed Okra w/Tomatoes and Kale

I bought my first okra of the season last week at the local farmers market; the purple and green variety, along with some cherry tomatoes of various hues. See more CUTE veggies here

okra

cherry tomatoes

I didn’t have a plan of action other than stewing together with some onion.

I started with that basic plan and added several cloves of chopped garlic.

sauteed okra

After adding chopped tomatoes, I let it cook on low for a bit to get nice and stewy (not sure that is a word?)

stewed okra and tomatoes

Then I got creative and added some kale that was sitting in the fridge. This mixed right in with the stew-ish-ness of the okra and tomato combo.

kale

I was missing protein and didn’t want meat, so I added some red beans I had pre-cooked and put in the freezer. Not quite sure how this would turn out, I gambled the whole dish on this one additional ingredient.

stewed okra/tomato/kale reciipe

I added some spices: chili powder, paprika, cumin, red pepper flakes.

After a good 20 minutes of low heat stewing, I served over brown rice.

stewed okra recipe

Substantial. Hearty. Healthy. That’s how I would describe this mash-up. What I liked the best was that I got my complex carbs, my greens, and my protein all in one dish. So simple!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 16:24:34

    I’ve been looking for ways to cook some okra and this looks really tasty!

    Reply

  2. healthstyleandfashion
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 00:44:34

    I always see Okra at the shops and wonder how it can be used. This recipe looks and sounds so healthy!

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:04:29

    Stewy is a new word as of today

    Reply

Leave a Reply

