Mediterranean Wheat Salad

This is the first time I’ve made anything with bulgur wheat since I’ve been experimenting with different grains. I wasn’t sure what to expect and I’m happy to say I’m a big fan of the nutty, crunchy texture and the simple preparation. Traditional tabouli is made with these grains and I wanted to do something like that but not quite that.

I created my own version of this popular greek and mediterranean dish using mostly the same ingredients

tabouli

Soak bulgur wheat in boiling water- 1 part grain 2 parts water. I used one cup of wheat, 2 cups boiling water. Allow to sit until all water is absorbed. About 20 minutes.

Meanwhile chop up fresh tomato – I used some cute heirloom green and dark red guys

herbs and tomatoes

1/3 white onion

3 cloves garlic

And a good bunch of fresh herbs. I picked what looked fresh and green on my patio: Parsley, Orange-Mint, and Basil. Mince to make about 1/2 cup or more to taste.

chopped fresh herbs

Mix together with grains after they have completely absorbed the water and cooled.

Add 1/3 cup olive oil and the juice of 1 fresh lemon

fresh lemon

Toss in 1/3 to 1/2 cup feta cheese crumbles

bulgur wheat salad

Salt and pepper to taste.

Stir well and refrigerate before serving

mediterranean salad

Such a cool, refreshing, light salad for summer. I love the combination of the different herbs. I thought about adding chopped nuts or raisins but had to stop myself from over-doing the simplicity of this salad. There’s always a next time……

I am going to use bulgur wheat a lot more. I get tired of brown rice and oatmeal and am enjoying trying different whole grains like buckwheat, oat groats, black rice, wild rice,  and now wheat bulgur. Next stop: Amaranth!

Be sure to visit my new website CreateWholeHealth for more information on healthy eating and lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

