Coconut Thai Legumes

After weeks of eating meat and upping my protein intake every chance I can I’ve hit a wall. I’m craving my simple vegetarian meals that I ate all throughout the winter. The stews, soups, and slow-cooked meals that kept me warm. It’s only August so there is still a lot of hot weather left but today I wanted warmth. I stopped at my favorite natural foods store for some hot soup for lunch and it inspired me to want to cook tonight.

I made this very simple but hearty bean stew. I kept throwing in different ingredients and flavors until it turned into something sort of thai flavored. It’s also high in protein so I don’t have to worry about getting off track with that. It’s just nice to have a break from chicken breasts every so often.

Lentils and Chickpeas go so well together and luckily I had both!

coconut lentils

1 cup dried red lentils

3 cloves garlic

1/3 white onion

1 can coconut milk

1 can garbanzo beans

1 can tomato stewed sliced tomatoes

2 cups fresh baby spinach

1 cup broccoli florets (I used frozen)

2 tablespoons fresh basil

1 tspn red pepper flakes

1 tblspn curry

½ teaspoon turmeric

salt/pepper

Saute chopped onion and garlic in coconut oil Add dry lentils and 1 cup water. Cover and let simmer 15-20 minutes or until lentils are soft. Add tomatoes with juice, coconut milk and spices. Cover and let simmer on low 5-8 minutes Add fresh spinach, broccoli and basil. Stir well, turn off heat, cover and let steam 10 minutes.

Serve over brown rice, quinoa, or basmati rice

~www.createwholehealth.com~

Leave a Reply

