Amazing Buckwheat Waffles

This Sunday is my last Sunday to post to WordPress so please be sure and sign up by email if you’re not already to keep getting my lovely posts delivered to you. My new website will be up very soon and this blog will continue there!

Last night I did something I haven’t done in a very long time- I stayed out late. I was shocked to see how many people were out at midnight running around, dressed up, full of energy, and mostly drinking. How quickly I’ve forgotten that lifestyle. I am so happy when I get to go to bed early! This morning started slowly and I was craving something hearty so I made these buckwheat waffles. I was SO HAPPY with how they turned out- thick, fluffy, and grainy- just how I like them.

buckwheat waffle

I started with 1/2 cup of whole buckwheat in the blender until finely ground. Add 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, cinnamon.

To the dry ingredients I added: 1 egg, about a cup of almond milk, 1/4 cup coconut oil, 1 tablespoon honey. It was still thick so I added a smidge of olive oil and a few drops of water.

They took a long time and a lot of steam was coming out of the waffle iron so I knew they were going to be nice and dense. I topped with my usual fruits, organic syrup, walnuts, and greek yogurt.

buckwheat waffles

Was this enough of a Sunday breakfast though? Where was the protein?

I whipped up an 8 egg omelette with chicken, spinach, tomatoes, and cheese. I used feta and sprinkled cheddar on my man’s since he is lifting heavy and wanting to add calories.

cheese omelette

100_2924

I ended up only eating half of my waffle because they were so thick and dense. Next time I will make a smaller size rather than filling the whole iron with batter.

buckwheat waffles

I work with some people who are afraid of grains and carbs. They think “This will make me fat” or “Carbs will lead to weight gain” but nothing could be further from the truth. Simple carbs like sugar, processed foods, crappy packaged snacks, and diet food will do that but not good quality whole grains and vegetables. Whole grains are fiber and keep us feeling full! Carbs are fuel that we need for energy. Energy = Movement = Calories burned and muscles built.

Don’t be afraid to try new grains in your diet. The caramel colored “whole wheat” bread in most grocery stores just doesn’t cut it. Some of my favorite whole grains are buckwheat, oat groats, steel cut oats, whole oats, brown rice, and quinoa.

Leave a Reply

