Summer Grilling Love

This is not a “how to” post on grilling, there are much better grillers out there than me who take it very seriously, especially in Texas.  I don’t pretend to know that much about it other than I love the taste of grilled foods and I love keeping my kitchen cool in the summer by cooking outside. I don’t really even have the proper tools, I just get out there with my fork and poke away until the food looks done. I like to keep it simple!

Tonight I grilled chicken breast seasoned with cumin, chili powder, and pepper. I had a large zucchini left from last week’s farmer’s market so I sliced that up thick and drizzled with olive oil before setting on the grill. I find that chicken breasts need about 8 minutes on each side depending on the thickness.

grilled chicken and zucchini

I made some whole wheat pasta after whipping up some pesto from my basil plant outside in my mini food processor. Can you tell I’ve been working out a lot since I’m craving lots of protein and heavier carbs? I can feel the difference in my body from all the push-ups this month.

I tossed it all together and put in some halved cherry tomatoes and feta cheese. It was SO good and I think it will be great chilled too.

grilled chicken pasta salad

We had a GREAT workshop last weekend at Marathon Fitness Co. The gym was transformed with chairs, tables, and even an essential oil diffuser.My friend made a huge variety of raw foods to sample and I made my homemade granola and vegan brownies. So much great information was shared and one lucky person won a free month of nutrition counseling with me!

nashville nutrition workshop

raw food workshop nashville

I can’t wait for the next one!!!

As I was eating my dinner my ipad camera took this cool shot.  I found these books today when I took the kids I work with to a bookstore. I’m always in the health or cookbook section and cannot leave the store without buying something. I have SO many books on health! I love surrounding myself with things that make me grow, expand, and become the kind of person I want to be. Take a look at your surroundings and see if you like what you see!

healthy eating books

Leave a Reply

