Farmer’s Market Love + a really big a** peach!

July is one of my favorite months; things are in full bloom, veggies are ripe, and the colors of all plants and flowers are spectacular. I am a pitta so I love the intensity of the weather this time of year- especially the powerful, hot thunderstorms which we’ve had lately. I enjoy a soft spring rain like everyone else, but there is nothing like the energy in the air before and after a mid-summer storm. It makes everything feel witchy and magic!

My neighborhood farmer’s market is showcasing all of the seasonal produce right now.  I’m so glad I volunteered there this year, I’ve met some awesome people. This week I was lucky enough to be given a CSA (Community Shared Agriculture) box from the incredible and organic Delvin Farms. For someone like me, that is like winning the lottery. I wanted to cry like Miss America as I carried the heavy box overflowing with veggie goodness to my car.

Lots of tomatoes- all different shapes and sizes. I must make a sauce or something with these.

100_2820

Lots of squash, including this patty pan squash that always reminds me of a little cheerful UFO. Treat it like any other yellow squash, slice it and steam or grill.

pattypan squash

A-Mazing local berries!!!!!!! I wasn’t sure what to do with the blackberries so I am just eating them like candy from my fridge. They are a bit tart but the blueberries are like sugar drops…..

blueberries and blackberries

How ’bout these softball size peaches fresh from Georgia, the official Peach state?? I’m a lucky girl that I got these right from the farmer who picked them that day! I’m just gonna say: that’s a big a** peach!

georgia peach

And I was able to grab some organic celery before it sold out. I’ve been wanting to try homegrown celery for my juicing. It’s got a pretty strong flavor and it’s smaller than the pumped up conventional stuff.

organic celery

If you do anything else this summer PLEASE go find a local farmer’s market and indulge in local, seasonal produce! Use this link to find one in your area. The experience of picking out your produce, talking to the farmer, and preparing it for your family that night is priceless. We so seldom have the opportunity to use our “hunter-gatherer” skills anymore, and the drive-thru at McDonald’s does NOT count.

PS It’s my Blog Anniversary this week!!! 1 year and it’s been so fun! Thank you for reading!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Ann Larade
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 21:46:00

    That IS a big-a** peach. My jaw dropped open when I saw it. My goodness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

