7 Ways to Deal with a Bad Day

Do you ever read people’s blogs and websites and think “They are so perfect, they are so healthy and eat right and have everything under control, how come I’m not like that?”  I do that sometimes even though I know it can’t possibly be true. EVERYONE has bad days no matter who they are or what they do for a living. I had one today.

556631_436293743076785_1859637751_n

A bad day can start out good. It can be so sneaky that you never see it coming. It can surprise you like a summer thunderstorm that creeps out of a sunny blue sky and pelts you with hard hot rain. It may be a co-worker’s comment, a traffic jam, a missed appointment, harsh words with a loved one, or anything that just sets your mood into a funk state. When I find this mood has planted itself firmly in my belly, my head, and my heart and it isn’t going to budge for a good bit, here is what I try to do:

1. I move. I work out hard. I try to sweat as much as possible and get the endorphins kicking in. This is a natural mood enhancer and it always works for me. I leave the gym feeling lighter no matter what is going on.

2. I spend time around my dogs. Their energy and love is contagious and watching them nap or chase flies reminds me that nothing should be taken too seriously.

3. I feed myself well. That means I stay away from junk food or grabbing something sweet just because I’m blue or pissed off. I try to eat super nutritious foods and make some fresh juice for a shot of instant vitamins and nutrients.

4. I light a special candle. The ones I keep saved because they were so expensive and smell so good, which is a terrible habit I am going to give up!

5. I go to my yoga mat and let my body do whatever it needs or nothing at all. Sometimes it’s a forward fold, sometimes it’s a supine spinal twist, sometimes it’s a hip-opener. We store a lot of emotions in our hips. Just being on the mat automatically grounds me and reminds me of who I am.

6. I take long baths. I let everything soak off of me and rinse down the drain. I also sometimes dry brush my body before getting into the water to literally slough off the day.

7. Finally, I rest. I sleep it off after listening to some meditations or some relaxing music knowing that tomorrow everything will be different, fresh, and new.

Don’t freak out over bad days. We are human. It is part of our reason for being here. Showing ourselves extra love on these days can be challenging, but it’s what is most needed. Learn to comfort yourself in ways that you find work for you. I would love to hear your ideas in the comments section!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Ann Larade
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 21:02:54

    I definitely needed to read this today. Thanks for the pick-me-up. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cierva
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 21:16:31

    Ditto. Especially today. Thank you for reminding me to take care of myself when the world isn’t.

    Reply

  3. Semi-sober momma
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 15:44:00

    Love it. We never know what other people are carrying. A friend of mine has become a real party-girl. If you saw her downtown on a Saturday night, you’d think she had a fun, crazy life. In reality, she is a single mother trying to get by after the sudden death of her husband. Things aren’t always as they appear.

    Reply

    • CreateWholeHealth
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 20:23:15

      This is so true and I sometimes forget that appearances don’t mean everything! That is a sad story about your friend- I hope things get better for her.

      Reply

      • Semi-sober momma
        Jul 10, 2013 @ 18:17:10

        Thank you. It’s been 3 years now and she’s acting like a teenager. I know it’s part of the grief process but it’s hard to keep sympathizing when she’s acting out in such a dangerous manner (smoking, drinking, having sex with strangers). I worry that she is putting herself and her two children in danger.

  4. NaturesComplete
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 16:28:27

    I really dislike it when a day starts off good and turns sour rather quickly. I try to focus on the good and that isnt always easy. I loved this article. So simple to do’s. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

