Best Zucchini Bread Ever + July Push-Up Challenge

I have been determined to make amazing zucchini bread since I messed up the muffins so bad a few weeks ago. I want my bread sweet, but not full of white sugar. I want it light and fluffy, but made with good whole wheat flour. I want to see the zucchini pieces in it and feel the different textures of the ingredients. This 4th of July when everyone was out watching fireworks I perfected my zucchini bread! I started with a basic recipe from king arthur flour and modified it to suit my taste, but not TOO much like last time!

Start with fresh, organic zucchini squash. Commercial zucchini and yellow squash come from genetically modified crops so I definitely avoid these in the grocery. I bought these at my local farmers market and spoke with the guy who had just picked them that morning.

summer squash

Ingredients:

2 large eggs
1/4 cup molasses
1/2 cup olive oil
1/2 cup turbinado or brown sugar (I combined them)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 oat flour (made with whole oats in blender)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cups shredded, unpeeled zucchini
4 chopped up dates
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Mix dry ingredients in large bowl. Combine eggs, molasses, sugars, vanilla  in separate bowl.

Stir together and add zucchini, nuts, and dates.

Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 50 minutes.

It was PERFECT!!!! And NO white sugar or white flour. I enjoyed it this morning with my angry bluebird cup of tea.

whole wheat zucchini bread

MY JULY PUSH-UP CHALLENGE: Dating a trainer has many benefits and getting good workout tips is one of them. He has challenged me to 30 days of 100 push-ups a day every other day. At first I was like “WHAT???” But then he told me they can be broken down into sets of 10-20 spread throughout the day. I can handle every other day like that. I am on day 5 already and it’s really fun to feel so strong, especially at the end of the day when I know I’ve done 100! And these are not “girl” push-ups on my knees, they are arms wide apart, toes on floor push-ups. Who wants to join me??

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Zucchini Bread!!! (dairy-free,egg-free, gluten-free, vegan) | Fit and Fab Life!

Leave a Reply

