Cabbage Sprouts or Jimmy Choos?

You know how some women go shoe shopping when they really don’t need any shoes but they think they might find something cute and irresistible? That’s how I am at Farmer’s Markets.

I didn’t need anything today but we ended up there after Sunday coffee. I kept thinking of my fridge packed with kale, watermelon, sweet potatoes, eggs, apples, carrots, celery, beets, etc and just knew NOTHING else would fit. I was ONLY going to look.

But then I saw these adorable little cabbage sprouts from a local farm. I have never prepared them before, in fact, I had never seen them before. I scooped up a half dozen and delighted in their beautiful, rose-like design.

Cabbage Sprouts

I treated them as I would any cabbage. I chopped them up after removing the very tip of the stalk. After sauteing a green onion in olive oil, I added the cabbage sprouts and let cook over medium heat.

chopped cabbage and onion

I also found some pretty yellow zucchini- and like a good pair of strappy sandals, I couldn’t pass them by.  They are sweeter and milder than yellow squash. I sliced them and added to the cooked cabbage/onion mixture.

yellow squash

I used my TJ’s lemon pepper grinder that I haven’t touched since winter and it decided to break over the skillet so a bunch of peppercorns got into the veggies.  I figured adding more vegetables might help balance the extra spice so I added one yellow summer squash.

summer squash

Then I got creative and threw in some baby spinach and it began to take on an italian twist.

steamed spinach

I covered and let it all simmer a few minutes until the spinach was soft. I found some really good parmesan cheese in the freezer that I had gotten last year at Lazzoroli’s, a little local italian market and shredded that on top.  Can you believe I stood over the hot skillet picking out visible peppercorns with my freshly polished nails?? It was actually quite meditative.

I snipped some fresh basil from my garden and added before serving.

The combination of the sweet squash, firm cabbage, savory basil, and green spinach topped with the tangy parm was PERFECTO!!

Spinach Squash Cabbage Stirfry

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vinny Grette
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 19:42:55

    Next time you can try the sprouts roasted in the oven with only a drizzle of oil and maybe some well crisped bacon to garnish. Delicious!

    Reply

  2. LFFL
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 19:55:28

    Ha-ha. I love shopping that way! It’s more fun.

    Reply

  3. silverbells2012
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 07:12:31

    I, too, find it hard to resist buying at a farmers’ market. Apart from anything else, I do want to support this kind of enterprise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

