Farmer’s Market, Raw Food and More

I have had an amazing couple of weeks as far as food is concerned. The farmer’s markets are on FULL SPEED with greens, berries, cheeses, beets, onions, and lots of cool food trucks. I am volunteering at 12South Farmer’s Market which is a producer only market and have met all of the farmers there. The care, love, and concern that goes into their fruits and vegetables is so different than buying produce at the grocery. You can FEEL the love that has gone into the plants!

12south farmers market

12south Farmers market

12south farmers market

I got my first summer squash this week and I am certain there will be much more to come. I am going to saute it with some coconut oil and fresh basil.

summer squash

I met a wonderful chef, Rebecca Smith, at the market who specializes in raw food, something that fascinates me and I have never tried to prepare. She had us over for an amazing dinner the other night and it was mind-blowing what she made without cooking! A root salad with fresh mint, strawberry sorbet, raw cacao chia seed pudding, nut cheeses, spreads, flax seed crackers, and a pineapple-jalapeno gazpacho. Check out her blog here! We are working on a future workshop together  combining holistic nutrition information, healing with raw food, samples, recipes and more.

raw salad

pineapple jalapeno gazpacho

strawberry sorbet

Plus these delicious coconut-lime-macadamia cookies. I had to take home a few extra!

raw macadamia cookies

My summer goal is to learn some raw food recipes, especially now that I have a new food processor.

This summer is off to an amazing start!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My goal from blogging | the wizard of raw

Leave a Reply

