Intuitive Eating vs Dieting

“Are you GF? Vegan? Do you eat meat? What about fish? Do you use dairy? Are you grain free?” There is an overload of food labels out there and everyone seems to want to claim a certain diet that fits into a neat little box with rules on how to be healthy. That is not always the best thing to do though. We all have different bodies and digestive systems, and our needs are constantly changing.  What works for one person may not work for another, or for that same person at a different time in their life.

I am an “Intuitive Eater”.  I listen to what my body wants/needs and I try to meet those needs in the best way possible. I don’t let myself get so hungry that I reach for anything to satiate me. I eat with my head AND my heart. I take my time to think about the process before making decisions around food or following someone else’s rules on eating. I’ve never been good with rules.

Try this the next time you are craving something: drink a glass of water, take some breaths, think about the hunger; where is it in your body-  is it emotional or physical? If it’s physical, ask yourself what would REALLY satisfy you, not just a quick fix, but a deep satisfaction. I promise if you practice this and have a good supply of real, whole foods available, your body will start giving you clues to eat healthier. The body knows what it needs for optimal health.

The best rules are the ones we create for ourselves

I am still more drawn to a vegetarian diet these days. I have had a bite of chicken here or there and a piece of fish every so often but for some reason my body is responding best to meat free. I’ve been making lots of grains, veggies, and wraps.

veggie wrap

I love these for lunch: WW tortillas, sliced carrots, tomatoes, baby spinach, avocado, cottage cheese, and sunflower seeds.

I also try to eat with the seasons when possible. I take advantage of local farmer’s markets and the offerings from local farms. Strawberry season is almost over and I am devastated. I am truly in love with local homegrown berries!

local strawberries

I would be lying if I said I don’t care about how my body looks as well as how it feels. Rumor has it there is a beach trip in my not too distant future and  I want to keep a lean, strong body that I work hard for. I’ve given up bread with breakfast to lighten my carb intake. I make egg whites with veggies, avocado, and cottage cheese with sunflower seeds.  I don’t even miss the toast with all this great protein.

scrambled egg whites, avocado

Weekday breakfasts are steel cut oats with fruit/nuts/local honey. But this Sunday I had my new waffle iron and couldn’t wait to make waffles!!! I used a 10 grain mix and added vanilla and coconut oil so they were sweet. I separated the eggs and frothed the whites so they had some good fluff to them too! My bf said “I’ve never seen anyone get so happy about a waffle iron”  Here is my first one with berries, bananas, walnuts, and greek yogurt:

belgian waffle

Sigh….such a beautiful way to start a Sunday. This one was definitely from the heart.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina @ Salt Pepper Brilliant
    Jun 02, 2013 @ 11:24:25

    I love this post! I agree completely. Diets are cookie cutter guides that lead everyone to believe it will work for them But as you said every-body is different. The funny thing is the same thing goes for an exercise program. We don’t all respond the same way. Really nice to see this type of post, stop by and say hi 🙂

    Reply

  2. NaturesComplete
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 20:05:54

    OH MY GOODNESS!!!! Those waffles look divine. I think I need to go and buy me a waffle iron and make these. I am a foodaholic and am always looking for delicious new recipes that the web has to offer. This is a must ry and I am saving this to my recipe file. Thank you thank you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

