Sexy Vegan Fudge Brownies

OMG How can something so healthy be so……delectable?? I love chocolate and when I crave it I really crave it!  I don’t mess around with drugstore candy-  I go for the extra dark, rich, exotic chocolate bars that you find in bookstores or coffee shops. I love the pretty packaging, the interesting names, the intoxicating smell, the thin shape, and the melt~in~your~mouth goodness of just one square.  Nothing else will satisfy me when I need my dark chocolate. Until now….When I tried these black bean brownies I wanted to shout out “YES! It worked! I’m satisfied!”  I get very excited about healthy food.

Here’s what you’ll need for this recipe courtesy of whole foods:

black bean brownies

2 cups cooked black beans, 10 medjool dates, 2 tablespoons raw almond butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 teaspoon chia seeds, 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor. I was forced to splurge on a new one after  getting dates and beans stuck in my old one that gave up on me midway.

I bought this perfect size processor this weekend and the world’s best boyfriend bought me a matching waffle iron! Can’t wait to try that next Sunday!

food processor

I had to add a tiny bit of water with the dates and beans because they were really thick. The cocoa powder smoothed it all out.

cocoa powder

Spread mixture evenly in a lightly greased 8×8 baking pan and bake 1 1/2 hours at 200 degrees. I ALMOST messed up and kept my oven at 350. These need to cook low and slow.

brownie batter

Let cool slightly before icing with the following:

I melted 1 tablespoon coconut oil and 1/2 vegan chocolate chips (or whatever version you like) to spread over warm brownies

making chocolate frosting

The icing sort of melts into the brownie and gives it a sweet subtle coconut flavor!

black bean brownies

I am in love with these brownies!  Did you know chocolate releases the same hormones that we feel when we’re falling in love? Can that explain why we CRAVE it so much and have an almost worship-like adoration for the dark stuff?  I can’t wait to try these again and add nuts and also experiment more with my new food processor.

black bean brownies with icing

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen AKA Precious Pearl
    May 30, 2013 @ 10:05:25

    I can’t wait to try these 🙂 thanks for sharing. I do have one question though. You say 1/2 chocolate chips… 1/2 of what! Cup?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

