Go Green Burrito

What more can I say about the benefits of eating greens?? The most nutrient dense veggies are dark leafy greens like Kale, Spinach, Collards, Chard, Bok Choy, Broccoli, Brussel Sprouts, etc  and provide our bodies with more calcium than MILK! Why not get more bang for your buck in the produce aisle and go straight for these instead of the white potatoes? Not that I have anything against white potatoes except that they are high on the glycemic index and don’t contain nearly as many micro-nutrients as greens. OK I do have something against them….

I throw greens into as many different meals as possible: Soups, salads, juice, smoothies, eggs, sandwiches, and tacos or burritos.

Start “sneaking” them into everything you cook! Spinach is the most mild in flavor and will not be noticed in most dishes even by picky eaters. Frozen kale is a great addition to smoothies too!

Last night I made this vegetarian burrito and it totally filled me up!  I started with cooked black beans , diced up a small baked sweet potato and combined them in a bowl.

slow cooked black beans

baked sweet potato

I added green salsa made with tomatillos for a tart spicy flavor. I love this brand that is found in most grocery stores. It’s not too salty and tastes pretty fresh for a jar.

100_2599

I layered the bean/sweet potato mixture onto a whole wheat flour tortilla. The TJ’s handmade ones are pretty good!

black bean sweet potato burrito

Then I topped with fresh baby spinach leaves and sliced avocado for some healthy fats.

spinach, avocado burrito

Before rolling up I added plain greek yogurt and some fresh cilantro.

fresh cilantro on burritoHealthy eating does not have to be fancy or complicated. With a few good quality ingredients and plenty of fresh produce on hand you can let your intuition guide you in the kitchen. Read about my accidental Greek Burrito here

Leave a Reply

