Mashed Curried Cauliflower

20130501-210900.jpg

I made this super easy supper the other night: steam cauliflower and drain. Add 1/3 cup nutritional yeast, garlic, almond milk (about 1/3 cup), pinch of curry, turmeric, paprika. Stir well and slightly mash cauliflower to a soft texture. I served with kale and collard greens and a baked sweet potato. It was just enough for a warm spring evening.  Tonight was a different story- I was craving protein.

I honestly don’t think I’ve been getting enough since I haven’t had meat for quite awhile. I’ve been doing a lot of cardio too and I think that’s making my body crave more. It’s totally OK to listen to cravings and figure out what they mean. That’s the beauty of our bodies and how incredibly smart they are! They KNOW what we need and when we need it. And it’s not always ice cream and pizza, we can actually crave nutrients from healthy food.  Cravings can be a good thing!

After a hellish 30 minutes on Jacob’s Ladder at BF’s gym, I was persuaded to have a grilled chicken breast. I made it into a spinach salad with sprouts, avocado and tomato.  I’m happy to say it was super satisfying! Once again, my cravings were right.

grilled chicken spinach salad

I am also experimenting with posting from my Ipad and not sure I like it- that’s why this post looks different.  I have a love/hate/respect relationship with technology and sometimes it wins, sometimes I do. Please check out my facebook page for some new yoga videos I’m posting that show off my cute dogs too!

Image

Leave a Reply

