Banana Nut Protein Bars

Have I told you how much I love “Oh She Glows”? So many great recipes, food photos, and info about vegetarian and vegan cooking. I’m constantly bookmarking recipes to try. Here is one that I found on Pinterest and made this afternoon. I was able to use some ingredients that I normally don’t have, like chia seeds and chocolate chips. Chia seeds are super high in Omega 3 fatty acids and considered a superfood. For being so tiny they are full of minerals and fiber. Toss them in oatmeal, smoothies, and use as a thickener for recipes that call for eggs.

Ingredients for Banana Nut Protein Bars ala “Oh She Glows”

1/2 cup ground buckwheat, 2/3 cup whole oats, 2 tblspn chia seeds, 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, 1/2 cup walnuts, cinnamon, 2 ripe mashed bananas, 1/2 cup brown rice syrup, vanilla, 1/2 peanut butter, chocolate chips. Pretty much all of my favorite things!!

Banana Nut protein bars

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl. Use your blender to blend buckwheat to a fine powder.

oats, coconut, chia seeds

Stir in good quality chocolate chips. I didn’t measure, I just scooped some in. My boyfriend was nice enough to buy me the fancy shmancy organic pure dark chocolate chips from the whole foods bins. These for me are a luxury, not the norm.

dark chocolate chip banana protein bars

In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients. I used one and a half large bananas and salted peanut butter. And of course my pure dark vanilla from Mexico that literally smells like heaven!

brown rice syrup, bananas

Pour wet ingredients into dry and mix well. It will be thick and sticky and pretty fun.

the money shot

Pour (or glob) into an 8 inch greased baking pan and press down with fork.

beautiful sticky oats and chia and banana

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until edges are golden.

Banana chocolate chip protein bars

These are SO yummy when eaten straight out of the oven!

Banana chocolate protein bars

The chocolate and chia make them gooey and soft and the nuts and peanut butter give them a substantial texture. Check out my other “oh she glows” recipe post here.

Who else is addicted to Pinterest? I LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

