Gluten Free Pumpkin Nut Muffins

The grey day this weekend inspired me to bake as it always does. It’s funny how weather can affect what we feel like cooking. I also wanted a chance to try brown rice flour which I had just purchased for the first time. I normally bake with whole wheat flour but am branching out to some of the other great flours available like brown rice, almond, and oat flour (which is easily made by blending whole oats in a blender until fine).

I had some pumpkin in the freezer that needed to be used as well so I came up with these nutty, healthy muffins made with honey and unsweetened apple sauce.

brown rice flour muffins

Combine 2 cups brown rice flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 2 teaspoons baking powder.

In separate bowl combine 2 eggs, 1/2 cup honey, 1 cup mashed pumpkin, 2 cups unsweetened apple sauce, 2 tablespoons olive oil (or avocado, coconut).

pumpkin muffins batter

Add generous sprinkle (about a teaspoon or more) of cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of all-spice

spiced pumpkin muffins

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well. Stir in any or all of the following:

Walnuts, Pumpkin Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Shredded Coconut, Raisins. I used all but the coconut, I just thought of that one!

nuts and seeds

Pour into muffin tin and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

healthy pumpkin muffins

These muffins have a lot of liquid ingredients  so be sure and bake thoroughly, use a toothpick to check. Some of mine came out a little too “doughy” for my liking because I didn’t leave them in long enough. Patience has always been my weak spot.

These are SO good!!! Moist, chewy, full of flavor and texture. Plus NO white flour or white sugar (of course!)

I spread mine with almond butter while still warm!

pumpkin nut muffins

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pumpkin Bread… Vegan Style | My 365 Change
  2. Trackback: Day 3/15: Sundried Tomato and Cheddar Corn Cake | the misadventures of a cooking monster.. om nom!
  3. Trackback: Muffin Monday — Almond Cranberry Muffins (DF) | ritaLOVEStoWRITE
  4. Trackback: Healthy-Apple Walnut Muffins | sisteRecipes
  5. sisterecipes
    May 02, 2013 @ 20:28:38

    These sound wonderful. I am always looking to try new and healthy recipes. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

