Vegan Yoga Bowl

Julia Childs once said “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces, just good food from fresh ingredients” I love that!!! That is my exact philosophy in the kitchen. The ingredients are truly what make the meal special. The fresher, and more REAL the ingredients are, the better the dish will taste and nourish your body.

Tonight after yoga I was craving something super healthy. It’s funny how when we take care of our bodies, our tastes begin to change to crave more nutritious foods and less processed junk. I had been to the grocery earlier and stocked up on lots of good produce, legumes, nuts and greens. I was starving and wanted it ALL!!! Solution: meal in a bowl.

I roasted cauliflower in a 375 oven for 25 minutes after drizzling with olive oil

roasted cauliflower

I simmered red lentils in water for 20 minutes on low heat with garlic, cumin, curry, red pepper flakes and turmeric .

red lentils

Kale was sauteed in coconut oil and a squeeze of fresh lemon as usual

sauteed kale

I cooked quinoa while the lentils simmered and sprinkled it heavily with nutritional yeast for a cheesy flavor and creamy texture.

After everything was cooked, I began layering ingredients  into a bowl, starting with small pieces of cauliflower:

1. Cauliflower

1. Roasted Cauliflower

2. Red Lentils

2. Curried Red Lentils

3. "Cheesy" Quinoa

3. “Cheesy” Quinoa

4. Kale and Almonds

4. Kale and Almonds

A lot like the buddha bowl  I made last month but without the tempeh.  Simple and nourishing.

The best part of it was holding it in my lap as I watched an old show on hulu while sitting on my futon. Definitely not typical, but a perfect friday night for me!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Almost Vegan
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 21:14:03

    Love that philosophy – sometimes the best meals come from simple ingredients! Sounds delish!

    Reply

  2. healthygirlandthecity
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 10:22:39

    Yum! ESP the “cheesy” quinoa!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

