Weekly Nosh-Up

This week has been heavy on the vegetables for me as usual. I experimented with a couple of things I hadn’t had in awhile, like beet greens, and also stuck with my favorites like kale and carrots for juicing. I try to incorporate as much variety into my diet as possible in order to maximize the nutrient intake. Plus I love all the different colors and flavors! The farmer’s market is scheduled to open soon and I cannot wait for local produce!

I haven’t had bok choy in awhile and found these cute babies at TJ’s.

baby bok choy

I sauteed them in coconut oil with minced fresh ginger.

Roasting asparagus alongside broccoli was a good idea too. Sprinkle lightly with olive oil and place in 350 oven for 15 minutes, or until color begins to darken slightly.

roasted asparagus

Over the weekend I prepared steamed salmon wrapped in foil packets. I sprinkled dill, chili powder, cumin, and lemon on top of the fillets and let them marinate before baking at 350 for 25 minutes. They always come out so moist and flaky this way.

baking salmon

Of course I had plenty of my juice from the Supreme Juicerator. My favorite is Beet/Carrot/Ginger/Celery with a big squeeze of lemon. This is a good morning snack if I’m teaching an early yoga class. That way I get some instant energy without my body having to digest a bunch of heavy food.

beet juice

My favorite meal of the week was this tempeh and broccoli rapini and steamed beet greens with tahini sauce served over brown rice. Read more about how to prepare tempeh here. It’s so filling and fun to eat because of all the different textures. Plus I’m in love with tahini on just about everything- including cookies.

tempeh with tahini

In other good news- I had my 10th post published on Mind/Body/Green!! Check it out Here. And also if you haven’t signed up for my monthly newsletter please check it out in right side column- they are short, sweet, and pretty!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. silverbells2012
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 14:41:20

    Tahini is really so good! I’m enjoying lots of spring greens from my garden, too – your food looks very enticing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

