Tempeh Buddha Bowl

I love having tempeh in my kitchen for those nights that I need something substantial that doesn’t require a ton of prep work. It’s a good vegetarian source of protein but I don’t eat it too often because I don’t like a lot of soy in my diet. I usually have it once a week like this or in a stir-fry

In preparation for my vacation in 1 more day I’ve been trying to eat lighter but have a hit a few rough spots. Dinner at an indian restaurant, sunday brunch (I ordered kale salad instead of waffles), and a thai lunch have all added up to too much restaurant food for my taste. Plus the fact I decided to make a batch of these lovelies for no particular reason.

Last night I got back on track with a delicious light meal-in-a-bowl.

buddha

I sauteed the tempeh in sesame seed oil with some white onion slices. I dusted liberally with paprika and a bit of cumin. I didn’t add any liquid because tempeh really soaks up whatever you put it in and I wanted it subtle enough to take the tahini.

paprika dusted tempeh

For the sauce I used tahini, tamari, water to thin, a dash of olive oil, juice from 1/2 fresh lemon, minced garlic and a smidge of maple syrup.

tahini sauce

I sauteed some rainbow chard in coconut oil.  Nothing makes me feel lighter and happier than fresh greens prepared in coconut oil. It’s one of my favorite things on the planet.

sauteed kale

I put the whole thing in a bowl on top of brown rice so it sort of mixed together as I ate.

tempeh with tahini

You could vary the bowl with different greens; kale, broccoli, spinach or bok choy. Toppings could include raw cashews or slivered almonds.

Buddha Bowls are the Best!

Leave a Reply

