Creamy Vegan Broccoli Soup

March has come in like a lion with windy, cold weather. The one thing good about it is making hot soup. I haven’t made nearly enough soup this year and I miss it. I usually make at least 6 or 7 kinds throughout the winter.  I threw this together with some leftover steamed broccoli and was able to use the rest of my nutritional yeast which I will be buying more of now that I’ve figured out some good uses.

Broccoli

I started by softening some garlic, onion and baby carrots in olive oil

baby carrots and onions

I added equal parts water and unsweetened almond milk

The steamed broccoli was added in after the other veggies had cooked. I used some lemon pepper and a small dash of nutmeg. Salt is optional, I added just a tiny bit.

broccoli soup

The nutritional yeast adds a “cheesy” flavor without the dairy. It’s not a substitute for real cheese, but definitely adds a tangy sharpness

nutritional yeast adds cheesy flavor

I blended some whole oats in the blender until they were fine and added in as a thickener. A good way to avoid flour.

oats as a soup thickener

I scooped out the broccoli and blended well before adding back into the pot. You can leave the pieces whole if you prefer a chunkier soup.

creamy broccoli soup

After it was cooked I added the juice of a half of lemon for some tartness

Vegan Broccoli soup

What is your favorite winter soup?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renard Moreau
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 14:16:44

    [ Smiles ] I LOVE broccoli!

    Thank you for posting this!

    Reply

  2. Yesenia
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 09:28:13

    This sounds great! I’m not the best at making soups, but this recipe looks easy and delicious. Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Broccoli soup | Comeflowers

Leave a Reply

