Coconut Chocolate Crisp Bars

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day so I was definitely in a “sweet” mood. I made homemade cookies for my Valentine using real butter, eggs and sugar. Even though he usually eats really clean, I know he wanted this exact cookie without my usual “healthy” variations. I know this because of his reaction to my tahini cookies– which I dearly love!

100_2143

What a sweet gift, right?

They were Oatmeal-Raisin- Orange-Cranberry and fun to make. Luckily I don’t love raisins so I wasn’t tempted to eat them all- but when does one EVER grow out of eating raw cookie dough? I dodged the raisins and got in a couple good finger scoops of that.

100_2134

Then I experimented with some other ingredients in my kitchen for something a bit healthier. I came up with these rice crisp/oat/date/coconut/chocolate bars. Very little white sugar (just the small amount in the dark chocolate bar), no flour or dairy. WOW- They are incredible!!!!

100_2152

I didn’t take too many photos because it was more of an experiment and I wasn’t sure how it would turn out but I must share this recipe with you to try!

It is a variation of the rice crisp bars I posted here.  I was able to put my coconut manna to good use too.

Melt equal parts peanut butter and brown rice syrup over low heat until soft. Add in a dash of vanilla.

100_1420

Pour over rice crisp cereal.

100_1426

I used cocoa flavored rice cereal this time- Yum! Add in whole raw oats and mix well, pressing down firmly to form a crust.

Next, chop up 4-5 large pitted dates and place on top of crust

For topping melt about 1/3 cup of coconut manna and stir in some unsweetened coconut and quality dark chocolate. I used just 2 small squares from a trader joe’s bar and it was enough.

Sprend evenly over bars, place in fridge to cool.

100_2150

My kind of treat!

The coconut and chocolate form a nice “shell” and the dates give it some gooey texture while the cereal and peanut butter provide a substantial base for it all.

What did you enjoy SWEET for Valentine’s Day?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrons of the Pit
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 10:44:08

    Oh yum! Well executed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

