Coconut Cauliflower with Chickpeas

I was inspired to make this after a shopping trip led me to a cauliflower sale. I wanted something warming, grounding, and full of protein. I’ve been craving plant-based protein lately, not meat. I always follow my body’s signals without question and right now it’s not into chicken or beef for some reason.

I started out with this big crisp head of cauliflower, onion and garlic.

100_2101

I sauteed the onion/garlic in the slow-cooker with some coconut oil.

Then I added the chopped up cauliflower and sprinkled with  curry, tumeric and red pepper flakes

100_2114I poured in a can of coconut milk and let it cook on high for an hour while I went to the gym.

100_2108

When the cauliflower was softened, I added a can of garbanzo beans (chickpeas)

100_2113

I saw some baby carrots in the fridge so I tossed those in as well.  This was becoming a nice indian inspired vegetable stew

100_2115

It was a little thin so I added some split red lentils knowing they cook very fast and become mushy which creates a thickness to the broth

100_2119

I still wasn’t satisfied with the texture so I plopped in a spoonful of peanut butter to give it a nutty smooth flavor

100_2122I let the whole thing cook on high for about another hour.

Served over quinoa, it was the perfect meal for a winter night. I sauteed some kale on the side which went nicely with it.

100_2124

Leave a Reply

