Coconut Yams

I have this jar of coconut manna that was given to me that I have not figured out how to use. I’ve read about it and get very inspired and then I forget about it again. I LOVE coconut anything and cook religiously with coconut oil. I drink coconut water in the summer and use coconut oil on my skin after a bath. So why was the coconut manna such a mystery to me?

100_2026

Everything I read about it said it’s “coconut butter”- the creamy “meat” part of the coconut. Some suggestions were to spread it on bread or a piece of dark chocolate. Others said to use as a butter when making desserts. Yet still it sat unopened in my kitchen.

Until I figured out this PERFECT use for it!

It happened accidentally one night after I came home late and hungry. I needed something sweet but I wanted it to be healthy and satisfying. My usual square of dark chocolate wouldn’t do.

I had a batch of baked sweet potatoes (orange yams) in the fridge. I usually bake 4 at a time and have them ready to eat all week.

100_2029

I took one out, smashed it up, and warmed it in the microwave. I topped with cinnamon and walnuts and then put a large spoonful of coconut manna on top. The manna is solid at room temp so place unopened jar in hot water or put open jar in the microwave to soften enough to stir and spread.

100_2028

The white shavings melted like butter and tiny slivers of coconut remained unseen but tasted.

100_2021

It was heavenly!! It has become my new favorite comfort food. It’s especially good to curb sugar cravings that sometimes happen late at night.

One more idea that I tried is to stuff the manna into a pitted date. Dates are a super versatile food that I’m beginning to grow extremely fond of. They are high in sugar so a little goes a long way.

My new favorite snack is peanut butter on a cinnamon rice cake topped with chopped dates!

100_2033

I would love to hear your suggestions for coconut manna and how you like to use dates. I am ready to try some new things with them!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. unorthodoxfoodie
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 23:03:26

    Ha, I just reviewed this on my blog tonight! I will definitely be making these yams with my new jar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

