Tahini Cookies

We had our first light dusting of snow this morning and I am curled up with some hot chai tea waiting for my morning yoga class.

My beautiful Magnolia catching the snowflakes

My beautiful Magnolia catching the snowflakes

It is the perfect baking day. Sometimes I like to bake with butter, eggs, and chocolate, and sometimes I like to go the healthy route. It depends on how the rest of my diet is going. This week I made a healthy, vegan cookie using oats and tahini- a middle eastern sesame seed puree found in the international section of grocery stores. I found the original recipe from here and added a few things.

100_1993

Blend 2 scoops oats (about a cup) in the blender until fine. I like to stop when there are still a few slivers of oats for texture.

100_1992

In a bowl combine tahini and honey. You want to whisk the tahini well in the can to smooth it out, it can tend to get thick when stored in the fridge. Add a few drops of water if necessary. Sprinkle in cinnamon.

100_1994

Stir in oats. I used my hands to really mix everything together well.

100_2005

It was a little dry so I put a spoonful of natural peanut butter in the mix- the flavor goes well with tahini and honey

100_1996

I tossed in dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds.

100_1997

You could add in any type of nut, raisins or shredded coconut as well. Think trail-mix  stuff.

After mixing the dough well, place balls on cookie sheet and press down to flatten with a fork.

100_2007

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.

Allow to cool completely as these are crumbly when warm. Of course I know that because I had to try one too soon and it fell apart.

100_2012

Are these moist, gooey, decadent delights? No. But they are an awesome energy source full of all natural ingredients,  and have a spicy, sweet, rich taste that is satisfying.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Super Foodie Adventure
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 18:25:56

    These look amazing! Well done 🙂

    Reply

  2. jacquieds
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 20:30:06

    Dear Carolie-Ann,
    How much tahini & honey should we use?
    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

