Winter Farmer’s Market

Today was unseasonably warm and it must’ve triggered something in me to head downtown to the farmer’s market. I have not been there for awhile and wanted to see what they had for the winter.

Nashville Farmer's Market

The produce section was a bit smaller than in warmer weather but still offered many varieties of fresh produce. Obviously, some was shipped in (strawberries, summer squash, etc) but I tried to go for the seasonal stuff like root veggies and dark greens.

100_1980

I got some Kale for morning juice and to saute

Dark leafy greens

Local Winter Greens

Stocked up on local dark honey for baking and cooking. I NEVER want to be without honey in the house

Lots of citrus offerings- I’ve been eating oranges like crazy for Vitamin C to fight off any potential colds/flu. Check out my chicken soup recipe for colds/flu here!

Citrus fruits

I bought some beets, brussel sprouts and garlic. I am roasting the beets to peel and slice and make a beet salad

heirloom carrots, parsnips, red potatoes

I love these heirloom carrots, they are SO sweet!

This is a great time of year to continue eating root vegetables- use them in soups, stews or simply roast them and enjoy the natural sweetness

These potatoes would be great in a soup

What are your favorite winter vegetables?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freshveggies/gingerleaphoto
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:17:40

    ooooooooooooh …. this looks fantastic

    Reply

  2. Kari
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:40:50

    Where is this place? I cant find a farmers market by me this time of year

    Reply

  3. Molly
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 18:45:05

    I’ve been trying to find some ways to use beets other than in salads since I found some at a farmers market recently too–any suggestions?

    Reply

    • CreateWholeHealth
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 09:10:39

      Yeah, they are not super versatile. I’m not a fan of warm beets or beet soup so I usually end up just chilling in a vinegarette marinade. I think they are best when eaten plain or with a light drizzle of olive oil on them. You could always juice them too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

