Super Easy Winter Fruit Bake

This is a great way to satisfy your sweet tooth without using any added sugar or even honey. It’s so simple and versatile.  I enjoyed my holiday apple cranberry crisp so much and wanted to clean it up a little by eliminating the butter and sugar. Pears are on sale everywhere right now and I’m eating them like crazy. I like to dice them in salads or slice and spread with almond butter for a snack. In this recipe they add so much sweetness, the sugar is not even missed.

Apples and Pears

Delicious, Fuji and Gala apples and Bartlett pear

Dice 3 apples of your choice. I like to use different varieties to vary the tartness and color. Add 1 pear for more sweetness.  I wash well and leave the peeling on because, as you know, I love the peeling!

Diced apples

Place in baking dish and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon

100_1963

Top with fresh whole cranberries and mix lightly together

Cranberry Apple Cinnamon Bake

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes or until fruit has softened.

Cranberry Apple Pear Bake

One of my favorite ways to eat this is with plain greek yogurt and walnut pieces. I sprinkled my birthday hemp seed on top for some nutty flavor and protein. Great for breakfast or an afternoon snack.

Greek Yogurt with Winter Fruit Bake

This morning I warmed it with maple syrup and walnuts and poured over my protein pancakes.

Fruit topped pancakes

This keeps for up to a week in the fridge and could also be a sweet side-dish served warm with chicken or turkey.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. home, garden, life
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:08:49

    Looks deelish! You are a healthy inspiration! Be well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

