Stay Well Chicken Soup

Lots of stuff going around this time of year and I refuse to get sick. If I feel even a little bit rundown I make sure to get extra sleep, drink lots of liquids, and eat more greens and fresh oranges for vitamin C.  My inner jewish mother comes out at times like this and urges me to eat chicken soup and to please have a second helping because I look too thin.

I listened to that voice today and made a big pot of simple chicken stock with lots of garlic and herbs. Nothing fancy, but it’s so good and seems to really work to strengthen my immune system.

In a large pot combine:

100_1634

1 half chopped white onion

3 cloves garlic

half a bag of chopped baby carrots

the big lie: they are not really babies.....

the big lie: they are not really babies…..

half a stalk chopped fresh celery

2 bone-in, skin on antibiotic/steroid free chicken breasts

100_1238

I always place breasts upside down to absorb more juice.

Cover with water and keep on a low boil for one hour. Remove chicken and let cool. Pull meat off bone, discard skin and return meat to pot.

100_1952

Add: 1 tablespoon chicken broth concentrate, ground black pepper, dash of cumin, dash of dried or fresh dill, *sprig of fresh rosemary and red pepper flakes.

*You can use any fresh herbs you have on hand. To me, the more the better: oregano, parsley, thyme, or sage. I removed the rosemary sprig before serving.

100_1689

Cover and let simmer over medium heat for 30 minutes. I tossed in some israeli couscous near the end just for a little texture. You could also add a small amount of pasta if desired.

Add salt and pepper to taste if needed.  The hot steam will open up sinuses and the vegetable and bone broth will provide nutrients and comfort.

100_1955

Eat right away and have more- you look thin!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Allaman
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 11:05:07

    LOL! I too have an inner Jewish mother. She never lets me forget to take my vitamins

    Reply

  2. The Scrumptious Pumpkin
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 13:16:25

    Chicken Soup is one of my favorites – so long as it’s the fresh, heart-warming, homemade kind (just like this one)! This recipe sounds so tasty 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

