Maple Baked Lentils with Sweet Potatoes

I am not a vegetarian but I end up eating that way a lot because I love vegetables so much. I also love some of the great recipes on vegetarian and vegan sites. One of my favorites is www.ohsheglows.com.  She has tons of great vegan recipes and I tried this one over the weekend.  It’s simple and filling.  I made mine salt free and  modified the cooking time a bit. Click here for the original recipe.

Cook 2 cups dry lentils until tender but not mushy.  Use a little less than 4 cups of water and they should absorb it all

100_1924

Dice 1 sweet onion, 3 cloves garlic, and one sweet potato. I left the peel on because: 1. I’m lazy 2. I like the peel

100_1928

Same goes for  1 sweet apple- diced and unpeeled. I used a Gala apple. I buy bags of small apples at Trader Joe’s to use for cooking, baking and smoothies.

100_1931

In a LARGE oven proof pot or baking dish combine the lentils and chopped veggies. I had to switch pans twice in order to be able to really blend it all together.

To this mixture I added:

100_1930

1 can diced tomatoes including the liquid  (I used salt free)

2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup (the real kind please, not the artificially flavored corn syrup)

100_1935

One handed photography while pouring sticky syrup. I can’t believe I’ve never dropped my camera in food.

2 Tablespoons Molasses-

YUM! Such an overlooked natural sweetener that has iron and other nutrients.

2 Tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar, a small dollop of yellow mustard. I did not add salt or pepper.

100_1941

Bake covered at 375 for at least 45 minutes, uncovering for last 20 minutes. The original recipe called for a shorter time but I  found that it needed almost an hour for everything to bake tender.

100_1942

I served over brown rice. This was good but next time I might add curry, salt, or tumeric (which is my new favorite spice!!) to give it a little more flavor. I also would cut the recipe in half because I have enough of this to feed a vegan army. Luckily, it will freeze well in individual containers for meals on the go.

100_1950

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Table in the Sun
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:54:56

    Like you, every time i cook beans, they multiply like loaves and fish!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Maple Baked Lentils with Sweet Potatoes | A life of quality!

Leave a Reply

