Cilantro Ginger Scallops with Broccoli Slaw

When I live near the beach, I will eat seafood every day. I will walk barefoot in the sand along the waters edge to the harbor where the boats come in with their daily catch. I will choose the freshest of the catches and buy it directly from the brawny, bearded fisherman who is proudly holding up his net, heavy with treasure. As the sun sets, I will return to my beach cottage and lovingly prepare my scallops as the fisherman gazes longingly….Ok that went too far. Seriously, I love fresh seafood but for now I am land-locked and must rely on shipped or frozen items.

Sea scallops are larger than bay scallops and, to me, more tender and succulent.  This recipe turned into a light, yet filling, flavorful dish that looks impressive and is super easy to prepare!

First I thawed the frozen scallops in cold water

100_1865

I made a marinade starting with chopped garlic and fresh cilantro-

100_1868

I added chopped fresh ginger, scallion, sesame oil, splash of white wine vinegar, and fresh lemon and lime juice.

100_1872

I sprinkled liberally with cumin and a dash of red pepper flakes

100_1874

I let this sit for about an hour as the scallops continued to thaw while soaking up the acidic juices and absorbing the flavors

100_1876

After removing from the marinade, I cooked them in a skillet over high heat just until opaque and firm. I like my edges to be a little golden so I made sure there was enough oil in the pan to sear the outsides.

100_1880

The slaw was simple. Most produce sections carry Broccoli Slaw already shredded and rinsed so I just tossed it into a pan of sesame oil, garlic and onions.

100_1877

I drizzled a little of the marinade in for flavor and threw in some raw cashews after it cooked. I also tossed in some fresh spinach leaves.

100_1879

I served scallops on top of stir fried slaw- no need for any condiments or salt. Fancy and light!

100_1886

Leave a Reply

