Hot Tea and Lipgloss

I admit I have a problem: It’s not about alcohol or drugs, or cats, or a bad credit score. It’s about my obsession with tea and lipgloss. We all have our sources of comfort, right? Since I quit drinking coffee in October I have become mildly obsessed with teas of all kinds: herbal, medicinal, traditional, floral, flavored, green, you get the idea ….I am enamored with the entire process of boiling a kettle of water, pouring it into a teapot with 1 or 2 different tea bags and waiting patiently for it to steep. There is something meditative and centering about this.

100_1851

With coffee, I stood impatiently at the coffeemaker as it dripped slowly and noisily into my waiting cup. It couldn’t come fast enough for me. Tea is like a visit with an old friend;  it starts slow and easy and gently builds into a comforting, familiar experience.

100_1843

With coffee, I am agitated, both physically and emotionally.  With tea I am comforted and feel cared for way deep down inside.

Before he died, my dad made this ceramic teapot and I can’t believe I’ve saved it for so long.  There is something almost spiritual about using this to brew my tea everyday.

Lime Green was the hot color of the 70's!

Lime Green was the hot color of the 70’s! It looks like a genie might coil out of here…..

My friend in the natural foods industry has generously shared MANY tea samples with me over time.  I have discovered yerba mate, rooibios, ginseng and masala chai. One of my all time favorites is Gypsy Cold Care. It works better than any over the counter medicine for flu and cold symptoms.

As for the lipgloss- this has been a lifelong love of mine. I can’t seem to stop collecting the delicious, flavored, adorable tubes of gooey stuff. My favorite is Buddha Balm in “Burnt Sugar Fig” It smells and tastes like pancake syrup! SO Yummy! I also love Kiss My Face Sheer Organic Shine- it’s light and minty.

These were in my purse and kitchen drawer, Don't Judge.

These were in my purse and kitchen drawer, Don’t Judge.

The ritual of hot tea is a winter life saver for me- both physically and mentally, in the summer I turn to iced tea brewed in the sun or cold lemon water. The lipgloss is year round!

What things do you use on a daily basis for comfort?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. A Dog With Fleas
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 17:00:23

    I couldn’t agree more with you about tea! There is something comforting, like an old friend on a cold winter’s day, that you just can’t help but enjoy. One of my favorite’s is Traditional Medicinals Ginger Tea. I’ll have to try some of the ones you mentioned!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

