Happy Birthday! (to me)

Today is my birthday! I am not one to make a big deal out of birthdays, I never have been, I prefer a quiet day with maybe just a little something special for myself to celebrate being here on earth for another year. Sometimes it’s a massage or a yoga class or a cupcake. It just depends what I feel like. Today I felt like these:

100_1836

I bought these for myself at Trader Joe’s. They really brighten up a dreary, rainy, cold January day.

My friends dropped off a gift bag at my door last night with these treasures!

Coconut oil, hemp protein, hemp seed, organic tea

Coconut oil, hemp protein, hemp seed, organic tea

ALL MY FAVORITE THINGS!!!! I am super excited about the hemp seeds. I’ve been looking to buy some for the last week. They are a great protein source and also high in omega 3’s. I love them!!! I sprinkle on yogurt, oatmeal and smoothies.

My morning started awesome with teaching my first 6:30am yoga class. Yoga is a great way to set the tone for the whole day and there’s nothing like an inversion to get all the blood rushing to your brain to wake you up!

Shirshasana

Random side-note of importance: I have to share this tip if you are ever trying to cut back on sodium like I am. READ labels carefully. I neglected to read the label on my beloved Trader Joe’s Lemon Pepper and just found out it has 80mg of sodium!  WHAT???

I feel betrayed!

I feel betrayed!

I’ve been using it liberally on everything thinking I was replacing salt with “Lemon Pepper”. Turns out it’s a “Blend” and apparently has sea salt. Needless to say I was pretty p****d when I found out. All of my hard work seems futile now. Anyway, just be sure to read labels and don’t assume something doesn’t have salt. Most stuff these days does.

Oh and the whole thing about “getting older…..”? I don’t even think about it. I love being my age and it sounds cliche but it’s true; You really are as young or old as you feel. I know 30 year olds who seem 50, and 70 year olds who seem 20.

Take care of your Body, Mind and Spirit and live life at whatever age suits you! 

These abs are (well) over 40! Age is no excuse!!

These abs are over 40- Age is no excuse!

Have a great day! I know I will!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 15:10:42

    Happy Birthday! I look forward to seeing how you use those hemp seeds 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your day x

    Reply

  2. silverbells2012
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 17:23:51

    Happy birthday 🙂

    Reply

  3. meromusings
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:48:35

    Happy B’day!:)

    Reply

  4. CreateWholeHealth
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 11:25:53

    Thank you! I’m glad it’s over for another year!

    Reply

  5. home, garden, life
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:23:32

    Trader Joe’s recently seeded a store here, and I was so excited. We have Whole Foods, yet they run rampant with high prices! Upon closer inspection (read all food labels!), Trader Joe’s does three things I do not subscribe to:
    1) everything is prepackaged, even produce and
    2) I was told by a TJ employee that anything with a TJ label would not have anything artificial in it! NOT TRUE! and
    3) TJ’s sourcing footprint is huge! Never anything local. I plan on commenting to the store manager next trip. So goes my infatuation!

    Reply

    • CreateWholeHealth
      Jan 29, 2013 @ 14:47:38

      I agree- I only go there for a few things that are priced well but overall I have been disappointed in my experience there. ESPECIALLY because of all the packaged, processed foods that people are tricked nto thinking are “healthy”…..

      Reply

      • home, garden, life
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 16:48:56

        Amen sister! I returned two TJ items today and came out with a dozen eggs. So many additives, corn, etc and most shoppers do not read! I always read labels and try to by raw foods instead. Back to the garden and WF!

Leave a Reply

