Rebellious Chicken Roll-ups

I was taught this recipe over the phone last week and decided to try it right away. I slightly adjusted some of the prep work as you will soon read. It’s relatively low in fat and a great source of protein with chicken, spinach and goat cheese.  I will admit, it’s a bit more preparation than I normally go through for a meal, but I’m sure for most cooks it is nothing. I am just exceptionally lazy in the kitchen. The end result was worth all the extra prep.

Start with thinly sliced chicken breast:

100_1776

Here’s a big step I skipped due to afore mentioned kitchen laziness- I didn’t pound them out extra thin with a meat mallet like I was told. It was a risky move I know, but my rebellious streak spoke up like it always does when following someone else’s recipe: I don’t even own a meat mallet and I don’t really want one. How often would I actually use a meat mallet? What exactly is a meat mallet? Who needs to pound meat more than…ever?? But sometimes being a rebel in the kitchen doesn’t serve one well…..

Lightly saute fresh spinach and garlic in olive oil until limp. Set aside to cool.

I chopped up some oregano from the garden

I chopped up some oregano from the garden

Allow goat cheese to soften. Chop sun-dried tomatoes or buy them pre-cut like I did (thank god for pre-cut sun-dried tomatoes).  Spread an even layer of goat cheese on chicken breast, top with sun-dried tomato, spinach and oregano. Starting at short end, roll up tightly.

100_1785

Roll in whole wheat flour to cover.

100_1788

Mine look more like a fat burrito than a “roll up” because the chicken was thick

Wrap each chicken roll in saran wrap tightly. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.

100_1791

These would be longer and thinner had I pounded the chicken with a meat mallet.

Remove saran wrap and roll in flour again if it has absorbed.  Lightly brown in skillet with olive oil.

100_1795

Place skillet in 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. Slice and serve!

100_1800

Aren’t they pretty?

I served with quinoa and acorn squash. Next time I will perhaps experiment with other fillings like: curry, walnuts, apple, feta cheese, etc.

100_1801Moral of the story: It’s ok to experiment- even if you mess up, you’ve learned something. I still don’t think I need a meat mallet, these were awesome tasting and that’s really all that matters.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trialsinfood
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 22:36:00

    looks good. i don’t have a meat mallet either, so i use a rolling pin. i’ve made something similar to this, except i usually stuff the chicken with zucchini, spinach, mozzarella and parmesan.

    Reply

  2. Captain Dave
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 00:44:42

    I do believe I really need to try that write soon, and I do have a meat mallet !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

