Post Christmas Clean-up

Christmas has come and gone and we are now left with the few remaining days of 2012. Soon we will begin a new year, a fresh start, and the long winter season of introspection.  Like most, over the holidays I indulged in things that my body isn’t used to: white flour, red meat, sugar, alcohol….and am now feeling the effects. I feel bloated, sluggish and heavy. Granted, my portions were small and I treated these foods as a “treat” not a staple of my diet, but still my body is craving my normal clean eating. I am literally dreaming of fresh colorful fruits and vegetables…… 

I want to live here for awhile....

I want to live here for awhile….

The last couple of days I’ve drank more water than usual, had a daily green smoothie, and have cut back on my portion sizes. I’ve had fish, nuts, seeds, squash, broccoli, greens, oats and apples. I’ve also gotten a lot of sleep by going to bed early. I want to go into the new year feeling clean and light. When our body is light, our mind and spirit can be light as well. I honor the new year by reflecting on the past and intending for the future. I’ve come to love my ritual of writing down goals, intentions and hopes on a fresh clean sheet of white paper every new year’s eve. For me it’s a powerful time to create what direction I want my life to take and also to let go of what no longer serves me. Yoga is a great way to do this as well. In fact, yoga on new year’s eve might just be a great new tradition!

How are you preparing physically, mentally, and emotionally for this transition?

Leave a Reply

