Apple Cranberry Crisp

Happy Holidays!

My gift to you is this cleaned up version of old-fashioned apple crisp. You’re welcome!  The original recipe appeared in Clean Eating Magazine and I modified it to fit the ingredients I had on hand. I also added in cranberries for color and tartness.

100_1726

Thinly slice 5 baking apples, I used fuji. I always leave the peel on after washing well. Mostly because I am too lazy to peel all that fruit plus I think it’s pretty.

100_1728

Mix apple slices with the juice of 1/4 lemon, 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup and cinnamon and nutmeg. The lemon keeps the apples from browning. Make sure you are using 100% PURE maple syrup and not the stuff on the store shelves that is corn syrup with fake maple flavoring and artificial color. Real syrup is more expensive but it will change your world and pancakes forever.

Set apples in a baking dish and top with fresh cranberries. I used about one cup.

100_1729

Combine 1 cup rolled oats, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup turbinado sugar. I actually think this is too much sugar so next time I will cut it back to 1/2 or 3/4. I don’t like fruit desserts overly sweet.

100_1731

Add 2 egg whites and 2 tablespoons melted butter.  I rarely cook with butter but when I do, I make sure to use real butter, not margarine or other fake “spread” made from hydrogenated fat and chemicals.

100_1733

I added chopped walnuts and gently mixed all ingredients. Spread topping evenly over apple/berry mixture and bake for 45 minutes in 350 degree oven.

100_1735

It came out Delicious!! Moist, crumbly, sweet and tart.

100_1742

Have a healthy holiday! Christmas dinner posts coming soon- I’m very excited about what I will be preparing.

Leave a Reply

