Savory Turkey Meatloaf

Even though our weather is mild for this time of year my body craves warmth and protein. If we eat with the seasons, as nature intended, it makes sense to begin to build up stores of energy for the winter by eating root vegetables, dark greens and animal protein. The earth provides us what our body needs to function for every season throughout the year.

I made this meatloaf the other day and was reminded of my childhood growing up in Minnesota where meatloaf was a staple of our bland, yet hearty, midwestern diet. We never used ground turkey though, that would’ve been pushing the envelope. I still have the old mixing bowl our family used forever ago.

I love this retro bowl!

I started with a fresh ground turkey blend of white and dark meat. All white is too lean and dry for meatloaf and burgers. I added 1 egg, chopped onions, chopped garlic, a dash of tamari and red pepper flakes.

100_1691

I add whole grain oats for texture and fiber. In the garden I found some Sage, Parsley and Oregano and snipped those up as well.

100_1689

I smashed it all down into a baking dish, covered with foil and put in oven at 350 for about an hour.

I paid homage to my midwestern roots with a squirt of ketchup on top

I paid homage to my midwestern roots with a squirt of ketchup on top

It came out firm and juicy- just like I remembered, but with way less grease than ground beef. It’s also less expensive to eat seasonally and not pay for imported, out of season produce or products. The cost of the turkey was just over $8.00, the vegetables around $5.00. I got 4 servings of this meal for under $15.00.

100_1707

I served with golden acorn squash, rutabaga and kale with roasted pumpkin seeds. A perfect pre-winter dinner!

3/4 of the plate is vegetables, meat is a side-dish

3/4 of the plate is vegetables, meat is a side-dish

Happy Winter Solstice!

Leave a Reply

