Red Cornmeal Breaded Chicken

I bought some Red Heirloom Cornmeal at the farmers market the other day. I was dying to try a clean cornbread recipe and ended up making this instead.

I mixed the cornmeal with some whole wheat flour and salt and lemon pepper. I have to give a shout-out to Trader Joe’s brand lemon pepper that comes in it’s own grinder mill. It is SO good on just about everything- it’s spicy and tart and seems to have a slight garlic taste. Definitely a good condiment to have on hand.

blogger-image--376320042

I dipped chicken breasts in egg and then the cornmeal mixture.  It was coarsely ground and you could see the red specks in it.

100_1541

The egg helps the flour mixture stick to the meat

The egg helps the flour mixture stick to the meat

I placed in a baking pan along with baby carrots, garlic cloves, celery and red potatoes.

100_1546

I covered and baked slowly on 325 for about 2 hours

100_1556

The seasonings were great that I used on the vegetables- just a little Herbs de Provence.

100_1562

I have to say the cornmeal was a little gritty- a bit too coarsely ground, but better than being mushy. It did form a nice crunchy layer on the meat sealing in the juice. I did end up making a healthy cornbread with it too and will post that recipe soon!

Leave a Reply

