Sweet Slo-Co Chicken

Slow Cooker Sweet Coconut Chicken….It was Sunday and I had out the slow cooker. I had no idea what it was going to be but I started with what I know: Protein and Coconut. I LOVE coconut- coconut oil, coconut milk, coconut juice, coconut water, lotion, cake…you get the idea

In the slow cooker I combined 1 yellow onion and 4 garlic cloves in some coconut oil.  I then browned some chicken thigh meat in coconut oil in a skillet. I sprinkled with red pepper flakes and a curry powder blend.

100_1654

I cut up sweet potatoes and added those with baby carrots, which , by the way, are not really babies but cut up big carrots, I can’t let that go…..

White sweet potatoes are much sweeter than orange yams

White sweet potatoes are much sweeter than orange yams

100_1658

I gently stirred the ingredients to make sure all were covered with the liquid

I placed the browned chicken thigh meat on top and added a can of coconut milk, salt, chicken broth and more curry powder.

I let it all cook on high for about 4 hours.

100_1661

I then scooped out most of the baby carrots and put in the blender until they were creamy and placed back in the slow cooker. I added a can of chickpeas after blending half of those as well to a creamy texture.

100_1663

I served over brown rice and it was amazing- sweet, spicy and filling. Next time I will add in green peas or edamame for a little green color and texture.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 21:14:46

    Oh my, that sounds incredibly delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

