Bok Choy and Friends

Today was the last day of the neighborhood farmers market until next spring. I love walking there with my dog every week and picking out fresh local seasonal produce and cooking it that night. I will miss it all winter and so will she……

Today I bought Bok Choy, Kale and some broccoli florets. My friend Heather inspired me to try an asian flavored stir-fry with the bok choy and I was so excited with my other produce I kept adding more to the pan.

I started with red onion and garlic cooked on high heat in coconut oil. Coconut oil gives everything a subtle sweet flavor that really sticks to the food.

I chopped the bok choy all the way down the stem using the leaves and the white stalk.

I let this cook and made a sauce with apple juice, tamari, fresh lemon juice, agave, ginger and red pepper flakes.

I added the dark leafy kale and some broccoli and poured the sauce over the greens.

They all went really well with the sauce.

In another skillet I seared some tempeh in sesame oil and topped with tahini. Because I can’t say No to tahini if it’s around.

For one second I was disappointed I didn’t have brown rice ready but it turns out the greens medley topped with tempeh was enough.

Next time I will skip the tahini and just use my sweet asian sauce. There was enough left over that could be poured over the tempeh.  Until next spring I will drive to the larger farmers market downtown. Different vendors, but good stuff all winter.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chef Doru
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 19:19:29

    Very interesting sauce. I will try it

    Reply

  2. A Dog With Fleas
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 21:54:18

    That looks delicious. I’ve never had Bok Choy. Will need to add that to my grocery list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

