Slow Cooked Black Beans

I like to keep cooked black beans in my freezer at all times. Not because I am preparing for armageddon, but because they are a cheap, easy, versatile source of protein. And they freeze really well. I cook them in big batches and then divide them up into single servings for convenience. I started with approximately $2.00 worth of dried black beans (aka turtle beans) and various ingredients from my cabinet.

Soak beans overnight in water

You can chop fresh garlic or use dried. I felt lazy that day.

I put beans in slowcooker and barely covered with water, garlic and a bit of chicken stock.

I love how purple they get

Add in cumin, chili powder, red pepper and salsa

upside down yellow heart?

I let this all cook for 8 hours on low

If you’d like the beans to become more of a soup, add more liquid and puree cooked beans in blender- easy black bean soup!

I served mine over short grain brown rice with fresh toppings.

That’s greek yogurt, not sour cream

I use individual plastic baggies to freeze them in for easy storage.

Ready for fast meals!

So I got about 6+ meals out of my $2.00 worth of beans and a small amount of seasonings. It is a protein bargain! I use black beans in: wraps, over rice, in soups, or with scrambled eggs.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. A Table in the Sun
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 20:02:35

    I like how you broke down the cost. It really isn’t expensive to eat healthy meals. And black beans are so versatile!

    Reply

  2. myrealfoodfamily
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 12:15:24

    Black beans are one of my favorite foods! I especially love them with quinoa. I think I’ll be cooking up a big batch this weekend and have some inexpensive meals ready to go!

    Reply

  3. silverbells2012
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 10:35:26

    Interesting to know the beans freeze well. I’m developing a plan to make sure I eat more beans, now I;ve read this post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

