Super Easy Swiss Chard

I used to be intimidated by leafy greens. I didn’t know how to buy them, what they were or what to do with them in the kitchen. So I left them alone for the most part. Aside from a salad or some spinach in my eggs, I didn’t try many other greens until recently. I’ve learned SO much about how beneficial these are to our overall health that I am now mildly obsessed with them and eat them more than once a day. I put kale and/or spinach in my morning green smoothie, I add spinach to my eggs for breakfast and then I eat a salad and have broccoli or another type of green for dinner.  Greens have tons of calcium, fiber and are nutrient dense. In fact, Kale is the top rated food on the ANDI scale which measures the nutrient density of foods.

I bought some swiss chard at a local farmers market the other day and brought it home with no plans on what to do with it.  As usual, when I don’t know where to start, I heated up some coconut oil and sauteed chopped onion and garlic.

Red onion has a stronger flavor than white so should be chopped smaller

I then stripped the chard leaves off the stems and tore them into smallish pieces. I had a HUGE heap of greens and felt like I could feed 10 people with it.

They filled the huge pot!

As I kept adding more to the pan and stirring I watched them begin to shrink down to a much smaller consistency like all leafy greens do.

The greens quickly cooked down to a small portion

I sprinkled on some freshly squeezed lemon and let it all saute a bit more before serving over organic butternut squash ravioli (find in frozen section of whole foods)

Amazing combination

It was so delicious and although I had guests, I could’ve easily eaten the entire amount of chard by myself. So simple, so easy. Lessons learned:

1.Don’t be intimidated by a vegetable you aren’t familiar with- try it and experiment.

2. Keep it simple. Simple is sometimes the best. As in this case all I used was a squeeze of lemon for flavoring. The coconut oil and onion were enough of a base that I didn’t need anything else.

3. Use various methods to get in your daily greens- cooking, in smoothies or raw in salads. Mix it up!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ Girl
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 08:19:10

    Looks delicious! It is also very pretty when grown in the garden… especially the rainbow chard!

    Reply

  2. silverbells2012
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 11:18:53

    PG Girl is the person who introduced me to rainbow chard and I have to agree that it looks great in the garden. I would recommend eating it in omelette or frittata. I made an omelette the other day – overcooked the chard slightly but that made for quite a crisp texture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

