Spicy Pumpkin Chicken n Vegetables

Slow cooker season is here! Yay!!! Nothing makes cooking easier than a slow cooker. Putting together ingredients in the morning before leaving the house and then coming home to a great hot meal is so satisfying and so little work.

I experimented with a half a can of pumpkin puree leftover from some muffins. I put 2 chicken breasts in the slow cooker with chopped onion, garlic and coconut oil.

They’re so cute when they’re young….

I let them cook about an hour and then combined the pumpkin puree mixed with salsa, peanut butter, honey, red pepper flakes and water.

I poured it over the chicken, stirring well to mix with the juices on the bottom.

After that I tucked in some baby carrots and potatoes.

Happy Family

I let this all cook on high for about 4 hours because I had to leave. I really would rather have let it cook on Low for about 7-8 hours which I will do next time. I was trying to rush a slow cooker….not very productive.

I served with Brown Rice

A couple lessons learned:

#1 Pumpkin puree is a great ingredient to add to thicken soups, stews, or to cook with meats. It is not limited to pie filling.

#2 Don’t be afraid to experiment with flavors in your cabinets- adding peanut butter and honey gave it sweetness while the salsa and red pepper flakes added spice.

#3 Most important- You can’t, and shouldn’t, rush a slow cooker no matter how badly you are ready to eat….

Leave a Reply

