Broccoli-Walnut Quinoa

I am lucky enough to sit in on a 4 week nutrition course at a local Integrative Health center. It ties in to what I’m learning in school so it’s great to watch it all in real-life. This recipe, taken from “12 Steps to Whole Foods” by Robin Openshaw, was the cooking demonstration for the week and the topic was whole grains. Quinoa is a whole grain (seed) and the only whole grain that is a complete protein so it’s good if you’re vegetarian.  You could also add in chicken or other protein if you’d like. I modified it by using walnuts rather than cashews.

Saute 2 cloves garlic and 1 small onion in coconut oil. They used a red onion, I used white. I found the coconut oil really adds an interesting unique flavor so I recommend not substituting that.

Add 1/2 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes, 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar, 1 Tbsp agave, 2 Tbsp lemon juice, 2 cups vegetable broth (I used chicken broth) and sea salt. Bring to boil

Add 1 cup rinsed quinoa. Quinoa must be rinsed as it contains a natural herbicide that can taste bitter. Run under water in a strainer until foaminess disappears.

Set 4-6 cups chopped broccoli on top and cover with lid. Let simmer for 20-30 minutes.

Add 1 cup toasted nuts. I toasted the walnuts in my oven but in the class they put cashews in a skillet on heat. Either way works. Just be careful of burning, mine got a little overdone……

This is a SUPER EASY recipe that can be made quickly while you are doing other things in the kitchen or taking a shower like I did (no photo for that) The broth cooks everything and it all blends together perfectly.  This recipe makes about 5 servings.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. silverbells2012
    Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:51:50

    Good news that quinoa is a complete protein. It’s not a taste I’m used to yet – or rather I find it a bit bland – but I’m working on ways to improve it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

